Horse Racing Adelaide News

Morphettville racecourse in Adelaide will be the focus of Australian horse racing fans and punters today, Saturday 12th May 2012, with Black Caviar aiming for her 21st win in the Group 1 The Goodwood. The Goodwood Day 2012 also features the Group 3 The Jansz and the Group 3 SA…

Horse Racing Adelaide

There are many world-renowned horse racing events taking place in Australia throughout the season that regularly attract thousands of punters. However, some of the most popular have been races in the horse racing Adelaide market. With tons of top notch races taking place at some great racecourses in Adelaide year after year, its no surprise that many of the new online bookmakers have been starting to provide great odds to punters interested in placing wagers.

Morphettville Racecourse

When it comes to the popular horse racing Adelaide market, by far the most popular venue is the famed Morphettville Racecourse. However the racecourse is currently commonly referred to as the Allan Scott Park due to a sponsorship deal with the Mount Gambier transport company owner. This great racecourse located in Adelaide is a premier location for horse racing in South Australia and is host to some of the fan favourite races among punters online.

Horse Racing Adelaide Special Offer:
Get up to $500 in Bonus Bet* from Ladbrokes

Among some of the more popular events taking place within horse racing Adelaide market is the Australasian Oaks held at Morphettville Racecourse annually. This Group 1 thoroughbred horse race is run over 2000 metres and is reserved for 3-year-old fillies. It’s normally held annually in April, however it was once held in May during 2006. With prize money on average being around AUD$250,000, the Australasian Oaks certainly has no problem attracting its fair share of top quality jockeys, trainers, and thoroughbreds. Some of the more notable winners in recent years include Gallica in 2009, Zarita in 2008, Anamato in 2007, Marju Snip in 2006, and Irish Darling in 2005.

Upcoming Races

Group 1

Cox Plate


Moonee Valley



Group 1

Caulfield Cup




3YO up Handicap

Group 1

Thousand Guineas





Group 1

Epsom Handicap




Open Handicup

Group 1

Metropolitan Handicap




3YO & up Handicap

Group 1

Melbourne Cup 2013





While the Australasian Oaks certainly has no problems attracting a ton of avid punters and horse racing fans from all across Australia, it’s definitely not the only popular race in the horse racing Adelaide market. For example, the South Australian Derby also is fan favourite event among punters placing wagers online. This popular race run among Australian Group 1 thoroughbred three year olds is run at Morphettville Racecourse over a distance of 2500 metres. These days the race is annually held in April, however prior to 2006 it was held in May. This great race has had quite a rich history within the horse racing Adelaide market having first been run in 1860. The distance of the South Australian Derby has changed a few times over years being run over a distance of 12 furlongs until 2001 when the race was officially held at 2500 metres and remains at that distance today. However it was actually run over a distance of 2600 metres in 1980. Some of the notable thoroughbreds to win in recent years include Rebel Raider in 2009, Zarita in 2008, Lazer Sharp in 2007, Testafiable in 2006, and Tails of Triomphe in 2005.

Another popular race within the horse racing Adelaide market is the SA Fillies Classic held annually at the famed Morphettville Racecourse. This Group 3 Australian Thoroughbred race, held over 2500 metres, has come quite a long way in recent years and has vastly grown in popularity among punters utilizing online wagering venues. Reserved for three-year-old fillies, this have has grown significantly in recent years having only first been run in 1951. The race first began as Principal Race until 1979 when it was officially granted Group 1 status. It was given Group 2 status in 2005 and was officially a Group 3 race from 2007 on. While the race has had no issues attracting a ton of punters and avid horse racing fans over the years, the name SA Fillies Classic was actually not given to the race until 2009. Prior to this it was referred to as the South Australian Oaks. The race was originally run over a distance of 2000 metres until it was switched to 2400 metres in 1986 and again in 1995 to its current length of 2500 metres. Some of the more notable winners of the SA Fillies Classic in recent year include Zapurple in 2009, Queen of Queens in 2008, Watchers in 2007, Dream The Dream in 2006, and Irish Darling in 2005.

With all of these great races taking place year in and year out within the horse racing Adelaide market, there are more and more online wagering venues providing excellent odds and betting options for these popular events. It truly couldn’t be any easier these days for the average Aussie punter and horse racing enthusiast to get in on the action!

The world of thoroughbred horse racing within Australian is indisputably one of the largest spectator sports in the country and definitely the largest market when it comes to punters. It’s no wonder with races such as the Melbourne Cup drawing in spectators from across the world. Though, The Adelaide market is another big fan favourite. There are several high profile thoroughbred races taking place at the famed Morphettville Racecourse in Adelaide that regularly attracts thousands of punters to the online wagering venues. Some of which include the Australasian Oaks, the South Australian Derby, and the SA Fillies Classic (commonly referred to as the South Australian Oaks). These world renowned races have no problem attracting popular jockeys, horses, and trainers that in return attract a ton of Aussie punters interested in walking away with a payday!